EDTECH 541 Final Course Reflection

Part One

Wow! What a semester it has been! After reviewing all the projects that have been worked on I feel like I have really accomplished a lot.  One of the biggest things I learned was that even though there isn’t always the perfect or ideal technology integration tools available, almost anything tool can be modified to work for any course.  This has been challenging but revealing for me because I found that as education technologists we are pioneers of creation for the classroom.  There is so many tech tools already available but it is our privilege and duty to be creative and make more available.

This course work demonstrate many of the AECT Standards.  The main standards found specifically in this course are:

Standard 1: DESIGN
Candidates demonstrate the knowledge, skills, and dispositions to design conditions for learning
by applying principles of instructional systems design, message design, instructional strategies,
and learner characteristics.
1.1 Instructional Systems Design (ISD)
Within the application of this definition, ‘design’ is interpreted at both a macro- and micro-level in
that it describes the systems approach and is a step within the systems approach. The
importance of process, as opposed to product, is emphasized in ISD.
1.1.1 Analyzing: process of defining what is to be learned and the context in which it is
to be learned.
1.1.2 Designing: process of specifying how it is to be learned.
1.1.3 Developing: process of authoring and producing the instructional materials.
1.1.4 Implementing: actually using the materials and strategies in context.
1.2 Message Design
1.3 Instructional Strategies
1.4 Learner Characteristics

Standard 2: DEVELOPMENT 
Candidates demonstrate the knowledge, skills, and dispositions to develop instructional materials
and experiences using print, audiovisual, computer-based, and integrated technologies.
2.1 Print Technologies
2.2 Audiovisual Technologies
Audiovisual technologies are generally linear in nature, represent real and abstract ideas, and
allow for learner interactivity dependent on teacher application.
2.3 Computer-Based Technologies
2.4 Integrated Technologies

Standard 3: UTILIZATION 
Candidates demonstrate the knowledge, skills, and dispositions to use processes and resources
for learning by applying principles and theories of media utilization, diffusion, implementation, and
policy-making.
3.1 Media Utilization
3.2 Diffusion of Innovations

One of the ways I feel that I have grown professionally from this course is by creating a greater portfolio of EDTECH resources for my content area, Seminary teaching.  I can now go to my employer and with a number of original tools and lesson plans that may be used by any seminary teacher.  I have also grown in the ability to adopt and adapt EDTECH resources to greater enhance teaching seminary.

My teaching practices have been somewhat impacted by this course in the fact that I’ve realized how many more tools are available for seminary teaching.  I say somewhat only because I have already integrated many technology tools and my thoughts of teaching with technology has only be strengthened because of this course.

One interesting aspect of teaching that was strengthened in this course is how theory has guided the development of the projects.  Each project had a different theory and the challenge was to integrate technology in my content area using that theory.  At first it seemed like each project would be basically the same but I quickly found that each theory and project made a big difference in what tools to use.  In this way theory guided the development of my projects because it gave me a direction to go towards choosing the right tools to enhance learning.

Part Two: Assess Your Performance

Categories: Reflections | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.