Week 6-Managing Your Project

This week we focused on the role of the teacher as a manager or guide in the project development process.  We looked at important and essential strategies to help make sure the teacher isn’t the whole show but rather a director.  One of the most important ways to help “check” your facilitating is to think in the terms of the student.  I think of it as the “I” or “me” syndrome that students often have.  What does this have to do with me?  What do I get to do?  Thinking this way helps me stay in the management role rather than the “sage on the stage”.   Some questions we were asked to reflect on help also with achieving a teacher/guide role.  The questions and my responses are below:

  • Will my role in the teaching/learning process change? I think depending on the activity I will have to be open to my role changing frequently.  There will be some teacher presentation moments as I help students understand the tools we will be using.  I will also become a team member/observer as I let students create their virtual maps.  Flexibility and availability is the key to success in PBL.
  • What are the skills of effective facilitation? The skills of effective facilitation have been outlined as:
    -Student centeredness
    -Understanding the role of the student
    -Managing activities
  • Will the students develop the competencies and skills needed to be successful?  I think some students will have an easier time at this than others obviously but overall I think they will be successful.
  • What changes will you need to make in order to become an effective facilitator in your PBL unit?  I think one major change is understanding when to facilitate and when to collaborate.  Getting the right balance is the key to success.
Categories: -4.1 Project Management, -4.3 Delivery System Management, Reflections | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

