Technology Use Planning Overview

  1. Start with defining technology use planning–how would you describe it?
    “Technology planning is an activity that provides direction and helps users understand clearly where they are now and imagine where they want to be.” (Anderson) I would describe technology use planning as a step-by-step process of providing the most useful methods of integrating technology in education or other areas.  Examples of these steps are the main goals of the NCTP (National Center for Technology Planning): 1.Collect 2. Disseminate and 3. Help (NCTP) It seems to me that technology use planning is best described as finding the right technology, for the right people, for the right price, and for the right results.
  2. How might the new National Educational Technology Plan 2010 be an effective and powerful resource for technology use planning?
    The new National Educational Technology Plan 2010 might be an effective and powerful resource for technology use planning because it’s a government plan for making technology use!  After reading some of the articles, especially looking at the NCTP website it seems to me that the National Educational Technology Plan 2010 is a great victory for technology use planning.  I got the impression from looking over the NCTP website founded back in 1992 by Dr. Larry S. Anderson played a big impact on making the National Educational Technology Plan 2010 possible.  Anderson’s website and research seems to be one of the fundamental infrastructures to make the plan happen.  I think the plan will be a powerful resource because it puts into practice the methods and steps found on the NCTP website. The fact that there’s a government issued technology plan in place is the most powerful part of it.  As valuable as NCTP is I think it’s just a good “resource” whereas a government plan is a “program”. The new National Educational Technology Plan 2010 is the application to the philosophy of NCTP.
  3. Do you agree with See about tech use plans needing to be short, not long term?
    I think any plan should have a long-term vision, but I do agree with See about tech use plans needing to be short term.  I agree that, “Technology is changing so fast that it is almost impossible to plan what type of technology will be available for use five years from now.” (See) so it is logical to make short-term plans that wouldn’t be applicable to obsolete technology in a few years. I like how See clarified his point suggesting that tech plans should be “divided into phases, not years” (See) and that if there is to be a long term plan that it should the plan should be tied “to your district’s budget cycle.” (See)
  4. What do you think about his comment that “effective technology plans focus on applications, not technology?”
    I think that John See’s comment is a realistic and practical way to look at technology use planning.  See has the philosophy of looking at the destination rather than the checkpoints.  I think it’s important to look at where you want to go first and then how you want to get there.  I think See has a very real world approach because he takes technology use planning in a “get it done now” way.  I think See’s comment makes technology use planning simpler because it tells you where to begin, which according to See is the end.
  5. Do you agree/disagree?
    I agree with John See’s comment that you need to know where to end up in order to make a plan on how to get there.  I think it’s important to be able to make a plan that uses results to be able to measure it’s success, and See’s comment suggests an applicable focus rather than what tech you are going to use.  I think that having a focus on applications will lead to effective technology plans, but it’s important to make the plan flexible and stick to it.  See seems to suggest a lot of flexibility with technology plans which I agree with but I think it’s important for any plan to be successful it needs time to development.  Even though technology is constantly changing, I think it’s important to plan on the change but not necessary always change your plan.
  6. What experiences have you had with technology use planning and what have you seen for outcomes (both good and bad?)
    Looking at technology use planning initially I would say that I have no experience, but after studying it I can see how I may have been more involved with it in than I thought.  I discuss often with my principal about the needs we have and we often talk about technology uses and equipment.  For example, we recently have talked about purchasing adapters for our personal iPads so that we can use them with the classroom projectors.  I didn’t think much of it but after looking over technology use planning I can see that it’s important to do more than look at budget, discuss what would be helpful, and then go with it.  It’s important to have a solid plan knowing what you want to accomplish rather than what would be more convenient. Since I have really no experience with technology use planning I haven’t seen any outcomes from it but now that I’m more “aware” I’ll be looking at ways to plan and measurable outcomes.

Anderson, Dr. Larry “Guidebook for Developing an Effective Instructional Technology Plan  Version 2.0 retrieved April 15, 2012, from http://www.nctp.com/downloads/guidebook.pdf)

NCTP, National Center for Technology Planning. Retrieved April 15, 2012 from http://www.nctp.com/about.cfm

See, John National Center for Technology Planning. (n.d.). Retrieved April 15, 2012, from http://www.nctp.com/html/john_see.cfm

Categories: -5.4 Long-Range Planning, Reflections | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

